Skip to content

Straight Roads

May 17, 2012

I remember one time driving on a road about 40 miles from my house. The road is notoriously dangerous. It is a winding road, it is filled with undulating hills, it is filled with blind spots and danger. I have driven the road many times; unlike many other drivers I have never had an accident. But there is one night that sticks out in my mind.

ImageI was about 23 at the time, so a lot younger than I am today. It was late, about 1.30am, I had been out with friends in the town at the end of this road and I wanted to get home. I was tired, I had work the next day, I wanted my bed. There was a slow driver in front. Driving carefully due to the danger ahead. I decided, on a bend, to overtake.

I pulled out, passed the car; I was just manoeuvring in when bright headlights confronted me. It was a stupid thing to do, I mean who overtakes on a corner?

I guess I have already given the end of the story away; I’ve never had an accident on the road, I managed to get in safely and avoid the car.

I have no idea how I managed it, I’m sure I could say it was an act of God but that isn’t the point I am trying to make. The road wasn’t straight. That was my problem.

But here is the point, if the road had been straight the danger wouldn’t have been removed. It wasn’t the bend that was the problem, the problem was me! It wasn’t the oncoming car that was the problem, the problem was me!

If the road had been straight, the oncoming car would still have been there, but I could have seen it and I would most probably not have pulled out.

The road being straight would have ended my blindness to the danger up ahead.

John says (Luke 3:4-6): “The voice of one crying in the wilderness: ‘Prepare the way of the Lord, make his paths straight. Every valley shall be filled, and every mountain and hill shall be made low, and the crooked shall become straight, and the rough places shall become level ways, and all flesh shall see the salvation of God”

John the Baptist (more about him in another post) is quoting Isaiah, but he is preaching the way that is straight.

When what is crooked becomes straight we see who we really are. That is what we are to be – people who are not crooked – but how?

Its not something we can do for ourselves, that is what John is saying, It is something Jesus does for us.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

